Algonquin Golf Club has a rich history and strong traditions.
Algonquin Golf Club was founded in 1899 in what is now Webster Park. The original site was a rough 9-hole links. The links were very pretty for the time and were called some of the area's best by professionals who played there. There were caddies at the original site - certainly for the ladies who played, but most members carried their clubs - a driver, brassie, spoons, cleek, midiron, mashie, niblick and putter (wood shafts, iron heads). The "clubhouse" was a room in the Missouri-Pacific's Webster Park railroad station (the Club leased the building from the railroad).
After a round, golfers had to walk home or arrange to be picked up at the station in the family horse-and-buggy. After three seasons, the Club disbanded in 1901, reorganizing in July 1903 at the present site on Berry Road. Tom Bendelow, a member, designed a 9-hole course (with actual construction performed by Robert Foulis) and the first clubhouse was built. The course expanded to 18 holes in 1913.
Over the years, many changes were made to the course, especially during the 1980's and early 1990's...white sand, contoured fairways, berms, continuous cart paths, more water hazards, flowers, shrubs and trees for beautification. The Club celebrated its centennial in 2003. In 2010, Algonquin completed a major renovation and redesign including new T1 Bentgrass greens, zoysia fairways, contoured bunkers and new tee boxes.
The Algonquin tradition continues today. We honor Algonquin's rich history and look ahead to its future. But, most of all, we enjoy its present...and hope all our members and their guests do, too.